Christian Book Reviews hosteb by Bring It On! communications

April 9, 2013—Hello bloggers, reviewers, and book lovers!

We know-this site is looking a little rusty. We had to set aside our book reviews for several months in 2012, but we are back and hoping that you will join us!

In the weeks to come, many new reviews will be rolling in and when they do, we will be posting them to our new site which is nearly ready to launch. You can visit us at www.TellUsTheTruthReviews.com

So....out with the old.....in with the new! Thank you for being a fan of books! We love what you have to say!

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

A BOOK REVIEW: 

Midnight Rising: Warning to this Generation

By: WM. Anderson Simpson
If you’re like me and love to read books that break down the scripture then you should read this. WM. Anderson Simpson does a wonderful job taking many verses related to the rapture and walking you through them. He even relates many of them to things that are happening all around us today. At first glance the cover will draw you to at least pick this book up. The darkness of the cover with the clock gives you the feeling of time running out. Personally, I don’t think this is a book I would come across read the back cover and feel an urge to read. I have to say though it only took a few seconds of reading to actually draw me in. 

I’m far from a biblical scholar, what I know of the bible is mostly what I learned has a child. I consider myself to be a Christian and have a strong desire to want to learn more. I was very impressed overall with this book. WM. Anderson Simpson did a wonderful job at explaining some key versus of the bible that I’ve never heard explained. Many pastors seem to steer clear of Revelations and when they do get into it they still seem to somehow distance their selves from what they believe it is saying or just simply give you the summarized version, skipping many verses. I call this the fear of stepping on someone’s “toes”. I was very happy to have so many versus dealing with the rapture broken down and explained. This book is a definite eye opener and makes you really stop and think. What if the rapture is upon us? Are we ready? 

Now, like I said after starting the book I was completely drawn into it but I did have a problem that seemed to pull me away. Throughout the book he would point the finger at who “Evangelicals” believe to be the antichrist. He then would say he isn’t saying this is the person, but maybe and this is why. I still completely felt of course this is who he also feels it is. Every time this would come up in the book, I would feel distant from all the other information he shared. Just one of those things you hear a hundred times and it starts to annoy you, and I’m not even a fan of this person. I did see how this person could easily relate too many of the verses that were pointed out, but we all know there are many others over the years that have also easily related to those same scripture. I always think that is something to keep in one’s mind instead of calling out the “wrong” (maybe, one never knows) person.

 I will have to say this book was so intriguing that it sparked a family bible study with my own family. When I had only read half way through the book, I wanted to share this information and get others opinion on it. I called up my parents and sister, that night we all met and had our very own bible study. Focusing on verses Simpson had written about in the book. Not all books make me want to do something like this, so you can imagine how drawn in I truly was. To think if I had just went off what the back cover said, I would have never read it. I really thought it was just another one of those books pointing at a person saying he is the Antichrist, but I got so much more out of this one book. So do I recommend this book to anyone? Of course, this is such a wonderful an easy to follow book. If you’re interested in reading on the rapture or having a better understanding of verses in the bible dealing with the rapture, then this book is a wonderful place to start. 

ISBN 10: 193526530X
ISBN 13: 9781935265306
Publisher: Deep River Books Sisters, Oregon
2009
Price: $14.99
disclosure:  I received the book Midnight Rising: Warning Signs for this Generation to read and review.  No monetary compensation was received for this post.  This is the honest opinion of Tracy Martin from Life of this sahm and has not been reviewed or edited by anyone else.

"Beating The Marriage Odds" Book Review

I think it is so sad that the statistic for staying together forever in marriage is only 50%. For second marriages, it is even worse - 25%!! Jeepers, what can be done about that? Well, the first thing I can recommend for those of you who are thinking about getting married, are engaged, or are already married is to read this awesome book, "Beating the Marriage Odds."
This book is written by William Campbell. He says, "My wife Phyllis and I have a passion to help couples in troubled marriages and to assist those who are about to marry. You can avoid many of the common pitfalls that cause couples to stumble, and we are here to show you how."

William Campbell is a practicing pastor, and graduate of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, with a Masters Degree and a Certificate in Christian Counseling from the American Association of Christian Counselors.

I personally have been married for 5 years, my husband is a pastor, and we struggle every day to keep our marriage strong. This book has helped us grow again in our relationship. I have been worried that adding another baby into our family is only going to create more tension and distance in our relationship, so I have really appreciated focusing on our marriage again and working to make it stronger. I know many of you can relate. It appears that so many people have the perfect relationship, but we all struggle. Marriage takes work every day. I have found "Beating the Marriage Odds" to be extremely helpful for both my hubby and I.

The book has such awesome principles for creating a good foundation for marriage, tips for keeping the relationship strong, and help with avoiding common pitfalls. It has chapters on finances, mind games, communication, fighting fair, trust and so much more. One of my favorite chapters is the one on communication, which is actually the leading cause of marital breakdowns. My husband and I are complete opposites, and we are constantly screwing up our communication. This chapter had SO MANY helpful thoughts and suggestions. (Now if I could only follow them...)

The book is easy to read, not preachy, and I highly recommend it to all of you who are engaged or married. I think that with how hard marriage is, we all could use a little refresher to work to make our relationships stronger. Just a few minutes a day of reading this with your significant other could make a HUGE difference in your lives!

You can buy this book online, at Barnes and Noble, Amazon.com, or Booktopia.

* Disclosure - This product was given for review for my honest opinion. No other compensation was given.*

The Next Great Move of God: Christians Returning to Their Hebraic Roots The Next Great Move of God Review


 Book Details:
Title: The Next Great Move of God: Christians Returning to Their Hebraic Roots
Author: Dr. LaSalle R. Vaughn
2009, VMI Publishers
ISBN: 978-1-935265-05-4

Book Summary (from the back cover):
Find the key to godly success in faith, family, finances, and fellowship with Him. Most Christians have understood the topic of salvation, but have never contemplated the Jewishness of Jesus. Understanding the culture in which Jesus lived will help you properly interpret the Bible. The Next Great Move of God: Christians Returning to Their Hebraic Rootswith open your eyes to the Jewish world of Jesus. This profound book reveals that the Christian life is much more than salvation; it's a lifestyle of obedience to the entire Bible from Genesis to Revelation.
You've received God's salvation ... but find yourself frustrated and struggling in certain areas of your life. You're newfound obedience to previously hidden meanings in the Scriptures will transform your life.

My Review:
To be honest, when I first started reading this book, I thought the author was way off and I was not sure I wanted to continue reading it. I'm not a Bible scholar and there is a lot of scripture quoted in this book. At first I wasn't sure if I would be able to tell if the author was interpreting the quoted scripture references correctly or if he was bending it to his needs.

As I continued on though, I was really interested in the topic and felt that he had a lot of good information in it. The way he writes is very simple and easy-to-read even considering all the scripture that is quoted in it. 

A couple of the chapters I found most interesting and why...
Chapter Two - Returning to the Ancient Paths
This chapter discusses:
-The Salt Covenant
-The Shema (one of the daily Jewish prayers)
-The Midnight Prayer

Chapter Three - Symbols of Our Faith
-The Word of God
-The Ark of the Covenant
-The Menorah
-The Shofar
-The Tallit
This chapter discusses a lot about the Torah, the Hebrew language, and common Jewish symbols. Although I found parts of this chapter confusing (mostly the language parts), the rest of it was very interesting. As a Christian we read and know about some of these symbols, but I don't think really understand what they were (and ARE) used for in the Jewish faith. 

Chapter Four - Understanding the Times
This chapter talks about some of the Jewish festivals and holidays that the author feels are still valid for Christians. He explains what these days were for and why they are still important.
-Rosh Hashanah
-Yom Kippur
-Sukkoth

Overall, I thought this was a very good book. Even if you do not agree with all the points that the author makes in his book, it is very thought-provoking and you could spend a lot of time researching all the scripture that he quotes throughout the book. It really made me think about things like keeping the Sabbath, why we don't practice more of the Jewish feasts and holidays and other ponderings like this. I will probaby be thinking about these things for awhile.

It is interesting to learn the meanings behind some of the major Jewish holidays and symbols. I think it is important for those of us who are Christians to understand the Hebrew roots of the Christian faith whether or not you agree with this authors assumptions that you should be integrating some of the Jewish traditions into it. 

I also think this would make a good book for a group discussion for a study group. 

Note: I was provided a copy of The Next Great Move of God from Bring It On Publications in exchange for my honest review. All opinions in this post and on this blog are my own.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010


The Next Great Move of God~Review

lg-9781935265054

I recently had the opportunity to review 


Available at Amazon for $9.63

ISBN-10: 1935265059


Here is a look at the Table of Contents:

1. Restoring the Hebrew Roots of our Faith.
2. Returning to the Ancient Paths
3. Symbols of our Faith
4. Understanding the Times
5. It's Time to Turn toward Jerusalem
6. Keys to the Heart of the Kingdom
7. America is a Judeo-Christian Nation
8. One New Man



From the book:


Find the key to godly success in faith, family, finances, and fellowship with Him. Most Christians have understood the topic of salvation, but have never contemplated the Jewishness of Jesus. Understanding the culture in which Jesus lived will help you properly interpret the Bible. The Next Great Move of God-Christians Returning to Their Hebraic Roots will open your eyes to the Jewish world of Jesus. This profound book reveals that the Christian Life is much more than salvation; it’s a lifestyle of obedience to the entire Bible from Genesis to Revelation.

What I thought:

This book is very thought provoking. I found it is easy to read and yet I will be pondering this book for sometime. Being a Christian I have always thought that the fact that Jesus was Jewish was very important. I have read about some of the Jewish traditions and talked with my Jewish friends about the importance of Jewish traditions, feast days and symbols. To be honest I have never understood why we were not taught about this important part of Jesus in Sunday School when I was growing up. When I have asked this question to some of my Christian friends I have had looks of why? Why would I want to know or acknowledge this part of our Christianity.Why should we care what does it matter? Why would we not?

Why not embrace those traditions that were so very important so long ago in the Old Testament. I remember the first time our church had a Symbolic Seder Feast. I grew up in a Methodist church and this was just not done. I am thankful to my pastor at that time for doing this. It gave me a greater understanding as to why Passover was so important. Our pastor also took us to a Jewish Temple where we were able to attend Temple and listen to the Rabbi. We have done some teaching with our children as to the importance of these symbols, feasts and traditions and how they play an important part of our faith.

This book is packed full of information and facts and Bible references to the Jewish roots of Christianity. It gives explanations as to why we should embrace our Jewish roots and why it is important and relevant to our faith today. I think anyone wanting to have a greater understanding our Jewish roots would gain wisdom and understanding from reading this book.

Disclosure: This is a MamaBuzz review. I was provided a copy of The Next Great Move of God from Bring It On Publications in exchange for my honest review. All opinions in this post and on this blog are my own.

The Adventure of Pooster and Bubs - Pookster and the Unloose Tooth
By Rhonda Funk, Eric Kieninger (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1935265407
Publisher: Fish Pond Kids


ABOUT THE BOOK
"Meet Pookster and Bubs in this delightful new children series that makes learning the fruits of the Spirit loads of fun! Turning real life lessons into practical life applications-author Rhonda Funk brings to life God's Word in a way any young child can relate. In The Adventures of Pookster and Bubs - Pookster and the Unloose Tooth, children learn patience and what it means to wait on God's timing. Pookster is a little girl who just happens to think that teeth are highly overrated and that keeping them in too long can be hazardous to your health. Bubs is her big brother who would be perfectly okay if a tooth NEVER came loose! Pookster prays each night that God would help her lose her teeth, but apparently He has something different in mind. Taking matters into her own hands one crazy night, Pookster and her big sister decided that her un-loose tooth COULD come out with a little help. What happened next, (to the horror of Bubs) was a tooth extraction of a slamming door kind- and a real life opportunity to sing “All I Want For Christmas Is My Two Front Teeth.” Spring has sprung, Easter has come and gone, but Pookster hasn't seen much of her two front teeth. She's TIRED of eating apples and leaving rows, or eating her spaghetti noodles and not being able to cut them off. Now she's begging for God to bring back her chompers. It's funny, she wanted so badly to lose them, but now she just really wants them back! Too bad Pookster has to learn the hard way that sometimes it’s better to wait on God than it is to do things on your own! The Adventures of Pookster and Bubs is a new fantastic way to encourage children to apply God's Word to their lives. Lesson by lesson kids will learn from the mishaps of Pookster and Bubs, and what it means to make good choices and how to practice obedience. We're all looking for fun ways to teach our children about God. We're also looking for something to play in the car that won't drive us crazy! Singer/Songwriter and Publicist Rhonda Funk has opened up a whole new door to learning that even parents will find entertaining. Sunday school teachers will love the practical application and the way kids relate to the stories, and parents will love the adventures as they relate to their own children and household. The 5-9 year old will most enjoy this series. Complete with an audio narration by the author, this series features the voices of Rylee and Ryan Funk (Rhonda's own children-the original Pookster and Bubs) as they tell one hilarious story after another. Such a likable series-you'll be waiting on the next release! "

The Adventure of Pooster and Bubs - Pookster and the Practically Perfect Pickle
By Rhonda Funk, Eric Kieninger (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1935265415
Publisher: Fish Pond Kids

ABOUT THE BOOK
"Author Rhonda Funk has done it again with book two of The Adventures of Pookster and Bubs-Pookster and the Practically Perfect Pickle, a delightful new children series that makes learning the fruits of the Spirit loads of fun! In this story, Pookster learns that much like a pickle, her words can be sweet or they can be sour. Pookster thinks that pickles are a wonderful treat-they are nice and crunchy, sort of sour and nearly perfect, (other than they're a vegetable and look like they're covered in frog skin!) Never-the-less, she is very protective of her pickles. So when her brother Bubs brings his toy soldiers to the table during her pickle eating break, she thinks they are there to swipe her green treat and take it to their leader. Planning for the battle of Kosher Dills, Pookster assumes the worst, and does what any normal little girl would do...however, Pookster's choice of sweet or sour words will mean the difference between keeping her pickle…or losing it to Mommy forces! Poor Bubs, caught in the crossfire is stunned at her response! After all, he was just playing soldiers! Pookster decides she should tattle on her big brother, but Mom has already seen the whole thing. Pookster is about to learn a valuable lesson when it comes to her Pickle Protection Program, and how a pickle can disappear, just like that! This silly story about an over-protective pickle eater teaches a valuable lesson on kindness and how our sweet words glorify God, but our sour words hurt people."
My Review
Bring It On Communications promotes Christian authors. I have worked with them on a few occasions and love their company! They sent me two books from The Adventure of Pookster and Bubs series to review - Pookster and the Unloose Tooth and Pookster and the Practically Perfect Pickle. 

I really enjoyed reading these book to my girls. Not only that but it comes with a cd that reads the book for you! It has two tracks. One that you read along with and the second you also read along and it tells you when to turn the page. My girls thought that was really fun.

I love that they use God in their life lessons. God is an important of our lives and I want to teach my girls that God is apart of every decision we make. We can learn through him and correct our mistakes with him. 

I found 'The Adventure of Pooster and Bubs' a really thoughtful story line. I love that they've taken characters and highlighted mistakes we all make as children {as sometimes as adults} but with a life lesson attached - God's time is not always our timing!

Great series and I would proudly buy these for my children!
I look forward to collecting all of The Adventure of Pookster and Bubs series!

BUY IT: You can buy each book in the series for only $11.99 Pookster and Bubs Official Website. You can also have them autographed for free.

REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY OF THE HEAVENLY HOST (BOOK 1) 

BY C. DELLASEGA

 -------------------------------------------

The Testings of Devotion (The Heavenly Host)In The Testings of Devotion (The Heavenly Host), the former archangel Lucifer thinks he can prove a point by destroying Mortals completely but Sophia, Senior Servant of the Heavenly Host, is determined to thwart his plan—and resist his temptations. As a created angel, she witnessed his fall from Heaven with horror but when she’s assigned to carry out The Testings of Devotion, she discovers just how strong the lure of Earth can be. Luckily, the archangel Gabriel is there to support her but his mysterious disappearances and silence about the fate of Sophia’s predecessor are disturbing. Her three assistants, the Selected Servants, also come with challenges: one moment they work with complete dedication and the next they openly rebel. 

As Lucifer’s power on Earth grows, he struggles to control his unruly army of Grigori, who are offspring of the original fallen angels. His grip of evil tightens around the seven Mortals chosen to be part of the Testings of Devotion just as Gabriel reveals there is a traitor within the Kingdom of Heaven. Still subject to Lucifer’s subtle attempts at seduction, Sophia begins to doubt her abilities to complete her assignments and fears she will disappoint both Gabriel and the Almighty Divine. When thrown into a direct confrontation with her adversary, she finally realizes who is truly being tested and witnesses the surprising power of complete submission.

My Thoughts-

If you are interested in Angels and the war between good and evil, then this is the book for you. The book is fictitious but is based on the Bible and the fall of Lucifer. The Angels were sent to protect us and guide us away from Lucifer. The book was a little slow starting and it took me a few chapters to get into the storyline. I was tempted to stop reading but I continued on and it started to fall into place for me. This is the first book in the trilogy and I will continue reading the series. This is a worthwhile read if you like religious fiction and was very descriptive.Would you like to win a copy of the book? I will be giving away my copy of the book to one lucky reader.

And now for the contest! USA AND CANADA ONLY

leave all entries in one comment!
  1. Leave a comment (please leave your email) +1
  2. Follow me on Twitter. +1
  3. Like Books R Us on Facebook +2
  4. Follow Books R Us on Networked Blogs.+2
  5. Subscribe to my blog via email. (Email must be verified for entry to count)  +2       
Contest ends 11/30 at 1159pm EST

Good Luck



Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the book from Bring It On Communications for my honest review and I was not compensated for my review.

THE NEXT GREAT MOVE OF GOD REVIEW

My Thoughts on The Next Great Move Of God
 By Dr. Lasalle R. Vaughn

The Next Great Move Of God: Christians returning to their Hebraic Roots By Dr. Lasalle R. Vaughn is a fascinating read. Dr. Lasalle went deep into discussions that I have always wanted to know more about. Such as Isabella of castle and the religion she started back in the days of Columbus or who does Israel really belong to? Each part if this book was truly fascinating and I enjoyed reading about the differences in religions past present and future! The Next Great Move Of God is about the Jewishness in Jesus. The book will teach you to live the Bible completely so that your life may change for the better. I have always wondered the differences of Jewish faith and Christianity. I am so glad that Dr. Lasalle has opened up the world for me that I have never known of before.

I like how well this book was put together. It was very easy for me to understand and I am impressed with the way the words came across to me. I recommend that you read The Next Great Move Of God by Dr. Lasalle R. Vaughn. Especially if you are like me and always wondered about the true Hebraic roots of the Bible!

Buy It!
Go HERE to purchase The Next Great Move Of God by Dr. Lasalle. R. Vaughn
I was sent a product for purpose of my review! All thoughts are my own and may vary from others.

Friday, November 19, 2010

 A Word to the End -Time Church

· By Georgie Newman
· ISBN # 1935265024
· VMI Publishers (March 1, 2010)
· $14.99

“Never before in history have we needed to take stock of what we believe, why we believe and how we live. As a collective, the human race is rushing towards a culmination of a time that will seal our futures forever. Yet only individually can each of us ensure our future. This book points out the dangers and errors of embracing teachings just because the majority is running with it; we need not be part of the status quo. It demonstrates how to take the road less traveled that leads to victory ensuring a safe and glorious future. It is warning of false prophets, lukewarm living and relinquishing our responsibility by following a particular teaching. Don’t wait till later, because later may be too late. “

My Take on Georgie Newman's Book
Though I do not completely agree with Newman on this issue she makes very fine points on the end of times. Where will we all be during this time? Will we be depending on someone else, or will we all choose to take strength in our own faith and not falter?
Her writing is true to the bible as it’s written and she’s laid out some very important points. In one of her statements she points out how hard it is for some to accept Christ just as it is to accept anything in life. Whether fear, pride or other things stopping us from embracing life choices everyone deals with this tough decision at some point in time. It is very true, even Christians true to their beliefs have a hard time believing things. She makes a good point that alot of people these days fall into, saying they believe yet they are living their life half-heartily. I think as a parent I teach my kids to go in with everything, not just part way. Everyone needs to put their whole being into what they believe, what ever that is. I myself don't know the point on going at something halfway, wouldn't you end up falling short before you even tried? Go at it with drive, believe in it, as well as yourself, the outcome depends on you. Choose your path yourself, don't let someone else choose it for you.

 This book makes a good read and a good study and discuss while going back to find the truth for yourself. Whether you believe or not she makes a good eye opener with her book. Do not rely on others when ever the time is coming, take responsibility for what you believe and prepare no matter what the cost in the future.

The book would make an interesting read for anyone questioning themselves as well as what could happen in the future. Though we do not know when the end will come, Georgie gives a good start on focusing on how to be prepared for it.

**I received a copy of Georgie Newman, A Word to the End-Time Church, in order for me to write an honest review. Any and all Opinions are and will always be my own.**

Thursday, November 18, 2010


Review: The Next Great Move of God


"This is a Mama Buzz review. The product was provided by: Bring It On Communications/Dr. LaSalle Vaughn for this review." No compensation was received and all opinions are mine, and mine alone.


WOW! Is all I can say about this book. I’m a reader, by nature, of all types of books. I love to read and I read quickly. This book has been difficult for me to read. It’s not light reading and if you pick this book up thinking that you will be wrong. However, it is a book to ponder on. To take it in chunks and really think about what the author is saying. As a girl who has been in church and a Christian for many, many years, I can honestly say that this book has challenged my thinking; is continuing to challenge my thinking. About what? About church in general. What we, as fallen humans, have made “church” to be, what we’ve made Jesus out to be.


I was captured the very first moment I picked up the book and in the foreward section read these words…”The question shouldn’t be, ‘where do you go to church?’ but ‘where are you submitted for training for the work of ministry?’” We, as Christians have a call to go out and for too many of us and for too many years we’ve begun to see the church as our “social” place, not as a place to bring the hurt that need healing. I’ve been caught up in it and in recent months have begun to have my eyes turned open as I begin to view “church” in a different light.
I haven’t yet found all the words to describe what I’ve read so far. I’m looking forward to the remainder of the book, as my heart and my head get stretched and challenged in ways that they haven’t been before. To see what I’ve always known in a different light.


The Next Great Move of God (Book by Dr. LaSalle Vaughn).
This author Dr. LaSalle Vaughn has written The Next Great Move of God-Christians Returning To Their Hebraic Roots. This book asks the question, "Have you ever considered the Jewishness of Jesus?" Most Christians are well versed on the topic of salvation but never leave the foot of the cross. As a result, they are likely to live defeated lives and experience many years of struggle and frustration. The purpose of this book is to equip people to look at the Bible through Hebrew eyes, helping to understand the need to be obedient to the entire Bible in a daily walk.


"God is shaking the Church into a level of reality. One key for the Church in days ahead will be to understand the concept of "One New Man." Devour the pages ahead and watch your heart come alive to the Word and will of God in a new way."
- Dr. Chuck D. Pierce, President Global Spheres Inc., President Glory of Zion International, Harvest Watchman, Global Harvest Ministries




Price: $10.70.


Put out by: Dr. LaSalle Vaughn.


Links: http://www.thenextgreatmoveofgod.com/
http://www.amazon.com/Next-Great-Move-God-Christians/dp/1935265059/ref=sr_1_

Christianity 201: The Pursuit of Excellence by Amos Tarfa

Posted by Heather on November 17, 2010

Christianity 201Christianity 201: The Pursuit of Excellence by Amos Tarfa
Published by Deep River Books
Thanks to Bring It On! Communications for the review copy.
Amos Tarfa has a mission, and that mission is to teach people what it means to live a life of excellence.  He writes that while most Christians feel that their Christian life and their regular life are two separate things, God should be a part of every aspect of one’s life – and we should be giving everything in life our all, in order to give God the glory for all of our accomplishments.
I chose to accept this book for review because I agree with the premise:  as Christians we should put our best foot forward in every aspect of our lives, we shouldbe trying to achieve excellence, and we should recognize the fact that God is the reason for it all.  But all too often, I don’t act according to those beliefs.  So I was hoping for a kick in the pants from Tarfa to remind me of these things and inspire me to act on them.
Generally speaking, I found that Tarfa accomplished this in the book.  The book is organized very well – beginning with some of the basics of what being a Christ-follower is all about, and why certain things (such as prayer, a personal relationship with God, reading the Bible, etc.) should be prioritized in our lives.  He then builds upon that base to get to his central premise, and ends with a call to inspire the reader to go forth and aim for excellence in everything.  He also gives several tips on how to better manage one’s time in order to prioritize the important things and spend less time on less important tasks.
While I found Christianity 201 helpful, it was clear that I am not the target audience for the book.  Tarfa focuses very heavily on students, teaching young Christians how to balance school, work, family, and God.  As I haven’t been in school for years, that part of the book doesn’t much apply to me.  Of course I can always do better with balancing the different aspects of my own life, but as much of the advice in the book is targeted specifically toward students, I felt a bit like it didn’t apply to me.  In addition, I wasn’t a huge fan of the tone of the book – Tarfa comes across as very authoritative, almost preaching to the reader about what he/she should or should not do.  While I understand that the point of the book is to teach something, it got to be a little much at certain points.
Christianity 201: The Pursuit of Excellence is a book with an important message.  I think it’s best suited for young Christians, preferably students, as the information presented deals heavily with that demographic.  As I do not fall into that category myself, it wasn’t a perfect read for me, but I did gain some insight from it and can absolutely see the value in the book.  Amos Tarfa is an extremely intelligent and passionate person and I am glad I had the opportunity to read his work

title pic Midnight Rising-review

Midnight Rising-Warning Signs for this Generation by Wm. Anderson Simpson takes the reader and believer to a new level. The things he wrote about the Rapture, End Times prophecy and the Scriptures he uses to back it up are actually nothing new, but his take on current news, events, and where America stands is.
There are so many “schools of thought” on where America is for the End Times prophecies. One is that America really doesn’t have a role in the Biblical sense, another says that America is the “Mystery Babylon” talked about in Revelation 17. This author takes the view that the anti-Christ will come from America, and it is the revised Roman Empire. He states,
…Those ten nations (the horns in Daniel’s vision) remain separate nations, distinct from one another, but all contribution to the transplantation of Old Rome onto the shores and soils of the New World. That the United States of America was founded by literal descendents of the Roman Empire is indisputable…
Mr. Anderson goes on to say that either our current President, or a near successor will be the anti-Christ coming from America. He does not point direct fingers to name this person of course, but shows the reasons why it COULD be. He is very careful to not name dates, or exact people, or places, but shows Biblical prophecy as it is unfolding on the evening news. His call to look for the imminent Rapture to occur leads the believer back to hope. Hope that the Lord will soon come and take His bride into Heaven.
If you truly understand the rapture is near, shouldn’t you be gleaning some understanding of the times and seasons? Shouldn’t that momentous event be at the forefront of our teaching of Christians? Shouldn’t our ministry of the word of reconciliation be focused?
This book is one I would share with others easily, as I think the message is relevant, valid, and needs to be spread. We have, as a generation, become complacent in the looking for the Lord and spreading the gospel. This could be our wakeup call to really press in and evangelize the world!
The thing I didn’t like about this book, is there are no chapters. The book is one large chapter, beginning to end. I am very OCD about chapters, I guess. It makes it easier for me to go back to find a quote, or a passage I like. It did make it harder to read, but his words are so urgent, so needed, that I was able to get beyond that.
If you have lost the blessed hope of the Rapture, or have questions about the End Times, this book is for you!
I was given a FREE copy of this book for the purpose of this review, and no other monetary compensation was received. All opinions are 100% mine. Thank you for the chance to read and review this book!
There was an error in this gadget