Christian Book Reviews hosteb by Bring It On! communications

April 9, 2013—Hello bloggers, reviewers, and book lovers!

We know-this site is looking a little rusty. We had to set aside our book reviews for several months in 2012, but we are back and hoping that you will join us!

In the weeks to come, many new reviews will be rolling in and when they do, we will be posting them to our new site which is nearly ready to launch. You can visit us at www.TellUsTheTruthReviews.com

So....out with the old.....in with the new! Thank you for being a fan of books! We love what you have to say!

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

“I had allowed myself to fall back into the same cycle of nagging and shouting at my children."

God’s Promises for Families, Noelene Curry

Review By: Twianna




Book Synopsis:
Could it be that we, as adults, often undermine God’s love for our children and limit His presence in their lives because of our own hurts and pain? In desperate times where broken families, teen suicide, abortion, AIDS, and other issues are on the rise, how can you raise your children to be Godly, yet not religious, and teach them to have a healthy long-lasting relationship in their marriage? In God’s Promise for Families, author Noelene Curry gives practical advice on how to raise children to with a deep sense of their own value and worth and how to teach them that God loves them and rejoices over them. She emphasizes some practical Biblical ways to discipline and pray for your children as they seek after God’s presence in their own lives.
My thoughts:
I really enjoyed reading this book and I could relate to the author as a mother. Noelene has written this book in a practical way that can relate to anyone with children and teenagers. In the book she covers topics such as:
Children are a Blessing, Despite what we think
Choosing God
Our Obedience
God’s Assurances
Marriage based on God
Our Value Reflected through God’s eyes
I can relate to Noelene’s exerpt from the book, “I had allowed myself to fall back into the same cycle of nagging and shouting at my children. Instead of immediately taking control of a situation, I had allowed their behavior to carry on until I lost my temper then blamed them for making me lose it”.
When I read this statement I laughed, because I can totally see myself in this position. How often to we become preoccupied with other tasks and ignore the issues in front of us thinking it will go away or the problem will resolve itself. I find I have to be actively engaged with my children and when I am not they notice. There is so much information and this book God’s Promises for Families offers a unique Christian perspective on dealing with issues in your home and in your marriage. I believe it will encourage and inspire you and offers good quality Godly advise to help strengthen your home. One thing that Noelene stated in her book is that “Christians often come under attack through various forms whether it be emotional, spiritual or a physical attack. It is during this time when we must ask God to increase our faith. We need to constantly listen to what God wants to say to us when we sincerely seek His will and answer for us.”
I couldn’t agree more! During the tests and trials that we go through as a believer in Christ instead of leaning, trusting and depending on the Lord to help us through the situations we go the opposite direction. It is during this time that we need to pray and exercise our faith and God is so faithful He is just waiting to show Himself strong on our behalf. I enjoyed reading this book and I am sure that you will too. You will laugh and cry and gain a deeper understanding of family from God’s perspective.

"There is an active, destructive, and intelligent enemy who’ll do anything to derail you"



Book Synopsis:
There is an active, destructive, and intelligent enemy who’ll do anything to derail you from realizing your full potential and accomplishing your purpose. He adapts his temptations and tricks to suit your natural inclinations and desires, modifying his lure to match your lifestyle. The enemy opposes and resists you, and tries to stand in the way of the answer to your prayers. For those times, God has given you the power and authority to crush the enemy! In Crushing the Devil, Pastor Pedro Okoro, (New Covenant Church, Wallington, UK) awakens your soul with this guide to spiritual warfare and victory in Christ. Defining spiritual warfare, he tells how to equip yourself with weapons needed to fight the battle.Crushing the Devil dares you to take God at His Word-because winning the battle doesn’t require physical brawn, but spiritual brains!
My thoughts:
This book is a spiritual weapon for those who are believers in Christ. This is an awesome resource and reference to accompany your Bible study time. In this book Pastor Pedro Okoro provides you with scripture references to reflect upon as well as biblical tools in order to have a victorious life over the enemy as a believer.
Topics covered in this book are:
Right, Capacity, Ability
Who Are You?
Spiritual Warfare
Strategy in Spiritual Warfare
Your Authority Over the Enemy
Fulfilling Your Obedience
Walk The Talk
In his book Pastor Okoro states ” To submit to God is to trust and obey. Put differently, to yield to God is to walk the talk. Without total surrender and complete submission to God, we cannot firmly resist and stand firm against the Enemy. Resisting the enemy means standing firm against him in prayer and opposing him with the Word of God. For this to happen, you must pray with the help of the Holy Spirit. Pray all manner of prayer. Speak the Word of God into the situation you are faced with…” you can read the full quote taken from page 200 in the book.
 
There are so many different areas of spiritual warfare to cover, you have to get the book for yourself. You will be equipped with a renewed spiritual mindset and made aware of the devices the enemy uses to hinder our progress, ministries and your Christian faith walk.
 
At the end of every chapter there is a section that includes Food for Reflection, Prayer Features and Action Points. In each one of these subsections Pastor Okoro provides important action points and lessons to reflect on, to encourage you and teach you how to examine yourself spiritually and walk in faith in every area of your life. I believe this book will be a blessing to you and encourage you in those times of difficulty. It was an eye opener for me and I have learned so much by reading this book.
For more information please visit: www.deepriverbooks.com
To purchase the E-book Kindle version visit: Amazon

"She loved the discovery of the ancients skeletons"

The Sacred Mountain, Dalen Keys
Review By Edna's Grandaughter
 


 

I passed this book on to my granddaughter and she read it for me, so I am going to post what she said.
First of all she loved anything to do about archelogical sites so she jumped right on. She loved the discovery of the ancients skeletons as Will Evans was on a trip to the reservation and thought he was going to just play skateboarding and being lazy. But when he arrived he and his friends begain a search to try their hand at finding out about a old take of a boy disappering while exploring the mountain.
 
She really enjoyed this book and I want to think Deep River Books for sending me this free book for a review.

"This book has helped me understand and appreciate this time period and the history of it so much more."




From an Orphan to a Queen, Esther  By Titi Horsfall

Review By Cara

 
 
 
I will always be a fan of courageous women. That is why this book, From an Orphan to a Queen by Titi Horsfall caught my eye. This is a story about the courageous heroine of the Old Testament in the Bible--Esther. 

In From an Orphan to a Queen, novelist Titi Horsfall laces historical and biblical events with fiction, weaving a tender and vivid recreation of Esther’s journey. The biblical account of Esther is a story of deliverance and of prophecy fulfilled, through an amazing interplay of characters and divinely staged events. In this book, our heroine’s story comes to life as a tale of hope and personal discovery… a tale of a girl whose hopes and fears were not all that different from young women today. Chosen by the king, young Esther was forced to replace another wife, mother and queen. With the encouragement of her uncle Mordecai, Esther risked her life, revealing her identity as a Jew to influence the king to reverse an execution order against her people. Her brave actions forever changed the course of history.

Although I've heard and read the story of Esther many times, this book brought Esther and her story to life for me in a whole new way. Sometimes the Old Testament stories get a little jumbled and confusing for me, because there are so many foreign names and places, and I find them hard to relate to at times. Author Titi Horsfall has done a marvelous job of giving the background for all that happened in Esther's life and making the reader feel like they are part of the story. I have so enjoyed reading this book, because it has helped me understand and appreciate this time period and the history of it so much more. I also now realize that I can relate with Esther more than I thought. I think we all can relate with the realization that only God knows our future and when we trust in his plan, he will give us greater blessings than we could have thought of for ourselves.

I think this book will appeal to almost everyone, as it weaves history with inspiration and hope, war and politics with family and personal struggles. I can't recommend this book enough, and I hope you are all blessed by it as much as I have been.

Monday, October 8, 2012

Living Prayer brings fresh insight to this ancient prayer and gives us the tools to transform our prayer lives.

Living Prayer by Dennis Fuqua
Book Review By Jan M.

Dennis Fuqua (pronounced few-kway), the director of International Renewal Ministries, and author of Living Prayer, challenges you to take Jesus' command on how to pray more seriously than ever before.

The events in Matthew 6:9-13 and Luke 11, took place in two different times and settings, but in both Jesus told his followers, "This, then, is how you should pray," and gave them the words which we now call "The Lord's Prayer."

Part 1 of this book introduces you to the prayer and explains why and how it can be helpful to your life.

In Part 2, each line of the Lord's Prayer is broken down with explanation to help us have a deeper understanding of the meaning. Having learned the Lord's Prayer as a little girl, I can still recite it today. Before reading this book I would have told you that I understood the meaning... but, I'd never studied it in this way. I appreciate James Mulholland's quote which compares the prayer to making a marriage vow. Even though it only takes a few minutes to recite, it must be lived out for years in order to become meaningful.

In Chapter 7, the explanation of "Let Your will be done," was especially eye-opening. I came to understand that His will is less about what we do and more about who we are and why we do what we do. His will = His commands

I thought Chapter 9, "Forgive us our debts," was especially well written. I often hear people who are confused about what forgiveness means. It doesn't mean to 'forgive and forget.' We can and do remember offenses, but we must choose not to retaliate. We can get mad, but not get even. If you have questions about the topic of forgiveness, I recommend this chapter. It's written in a way that is easy to understand and remember.

At the end of each chapter there is a response section with a few questions to help you process what you've learned.

Part 3 has, what the author calls, "training wheel prayers," to assist us until we are ready to ride on our own. There are a multitude of combinations given, to suit every need.

Living Prayer brings fresh insight to this ancient prayer and gives us the tools to transform our prayer lives.


You can buy Living Prayer at Amazon.com, Christianbook.com or local booksellers

"The one thing that really made me think was the gossip that went on in the church"

Love's Tangled Web,   Keren Franklin
Review by Brenda



A picture-perfect marriage. A little harmless flirting. Two sisters, with lifelong resentments. The ultimate betrayal. Bridgette’s life, on the sun-drenched west coast of Australia, appears perfect – married to a successful lawyer, Joel, with two beautiful daughters and a leadership position in church. She even has herself fooled into thinking she’s got it all together. But there’s a perfect storm brewing, a wave of events that will sweep away Bridgette’s superficial world forever. Joel is harboring frustrations which his self-centered wife won’t acknowledge, and Bridgette’s sister is nursing an old grudge against her. When dangerous passions erupt between the two, Bridgette is blind-sided and humiliated. As destruction falls on everyone she loves, Bridgette must finally get real with herself… and with God. In the aftermath, an attractive younger man offers her his heart, but can Bridgette build a new life and a stronger love amid the rubble? Or is it possible to forgive the unforgivable? Keren Franklin spins a gripping, cautionary tale about the tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive… ourselves.


My take on this book:
It's not often that I read a book that has me changing my mind about who I think is wrong or right, but this one certainly did!


Bridgette seemed to have the perfect life. Her husband Joel is a successful lawyer in her father's firm, she has two wonderful daughters, and attends church regularly where she leads a Bible study group. The only thing is she doesn't have a great relationship with her sister Piper, who is a single mother, although their relationship isn't great they still get along, or at least they do until Piper crosses a line and does something that can never be undone, something that puts Bridgette's perfect marriage in jeopardy, and has her rethinking her entire life. Will Bridgette's marriage be over, can she ever find forgiveness for Joel and Piper? What happens with Bridgette's relationship with God?



Well this book really hooked me...  the thing is I had my mind all made up about who and what was right and wrong. In the beginning I think I was alot like the character of Amy in this story, and couldn't see past the deed that had been done. As the story unfolds though I really saw that not everything is so black and white, and could see how something like the situation in this book could happen. While I really felt for Bridgette, I also felt empathy for Joel as well as Piper, although it took me a while to get there with these two characters. The one thing that really made me think was the gossip that went on in the church. That topic alone makes this book a must read. Overall, this is a thought provoking read that would be great as a group read, especially for women's church groups, because there are several lessons to be learned in the pages of this one. I am anxious to read more from this author!

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

"...relevant scriptures, prayers, age-old quotes, and discussion questions for family interaction."

Lord, Bless My Child  -   Bill and Nancie Carmichael

Review By Cara

My children are some of the greatest blessings in my life, and I know that it is a great responsibility to take care of them, love them, and teach them to the best of my ability. That is why when I saw the book, "Lord, Bless My Child - A Keepsake Prayer Journal to Pray for the Character of God in My Child" by William & Nancie Carmicheal, I jumped at the chance to review it!


This book is even better than I had hoped it would be! It is a wonderful guide for parents in praying for the character of God to be developed in the lives of their children. This book offers 52 prayer concepts that fall in line with God’s plan for each child. I have been doing one concept a week, and it has been such a blessing in our lives already! Each week (each concept), you look at relevant scriptures, prayers, age-old quotes, and discussion questions for family interaction. For instance, the first concept was compassion. Not only did I have the chance to teach my son this invaluable concept, I myself grew in my understanding of compassion and tried to practice being more compassionate in my own daily life. After all, the best way to teach your child is through your own modeling.

Another part of this book that I appreciate is that in each chapter, there is also a place to journal your prayers—and later, how God has answered them. Then, if you choose to, you can give this journal to your child as a gift so they can read the prayer journal entries, and see how God answered your prayers for them over the years. I think this is such a wonderful idea, and I have enjoyed it immensely! Someday, this will be an invaluable gift to share with my kids!

The next concept we are going through is contentment, and I know our whole family can benefit from this lesson and all the concepts in this fabulous book! Thank you, Carmichaels for such a thoughtful and useful book.
 
You can find this book at tons of online retailers, and I highly recommend you start reading it as part of your daily schedule.

Friday, September 7, 2012

"Engage in electrifying battles in this Bible fantasy"

 

“Crowns Of Courage” By Karen Kleinberg

Book Review by

 
 "Engage in electrifying battles in this Bible fantasy"
 
 
 
Quick Overview:

Seth’s heart pounds and stiffens with fear. The hum and clatter of threatening weapons fill his ears. Snatched from his family, he finds himself suddenly whisked into the future where he is surrounded by magnificent angels preparing for battle. Michael, his guide and companion, stands alert waiting to clash with the demons of darkness who have been sent to confound the minds of man.
A two-part story, Crowns of Courage involves King Ahab and Elijah as each challenges their god for rain. In it, Elijah exhibits the true courage that comes only from God. The story continues with King Ahab, the ruler of Israel, and King Jehoshaphat, the ruler of Judah. This unlikely partnership leads to war against a common enemy where both kings experience consequences for their compromise-at a cost neither anticipated. Seth, the young traveler, learns that courage comes from knowing God and trusting his power for your circumstances. The results are up to him.  Engage in electrifying battles in this Bible fantasy where Seth must confront his own fears, while observing the dangerous choices made by others. He’s an unlikely hero, witnessing astonishing events, which proves that the imagined power of man cannot even compare to the actual power of God! Victories can be won in the spirit, but are made real by the choices of a man’s heart.
 
My Thoughts:
 
Crowns of Courage was a fun book to read. It was like being behind the scenes of a movie, seeing what everyone else sees during filming. Watching Seth grow in courage and faith, as he watched the angels fight for victory over Satan and his croonies and saw firsthand what happens when one chooses to not follow God’s directives, and what happens when they have the faith to follow God.
I was inspired, encouraged and challenged through this book to have more faith, to do what needs to be done no matter how frightening, or odd it may seem. I loved Crowns Of Courage so much I am adding it to this years home school book list. I think it will quickly become a favorite on my children’s bookshelf. It is a fun, yet inspiring book that kids and adults alike will love. I have already told family and friends that this is a must read book and added a few copies to my Christmas shopping list to giveaway.
 
You can buy “Crowns Of Courage” from Deep River Books for $13.99.
Deep River Books: Whether you are looking for inspiration, Christian living, tips on parenting or a good fiction book-it is all right here.
I received this book free from Deep River Books in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are mine and mine alone and are in no way influenced by receipt of this book.

"Our faithful prayers help unlock God's character within our children."

Lord, Bless My Child: A Keepsake Prayer Journal  by William & Nancie Carmichael
Review by Jan M.
 
"Our faithful prayers help unlock God's character within our children."
 
 




 
Ask a parent about her greatest blessing, and she'll likely tell you about her children. It's such a privilege to raise children. Sure, parenting is hard work and it has its ups and downs, but the joy, the tremendous joy, children bring is immeasurable. We want the best future for our children. We set aside money for them, make plans for their education, and try to help them make wise decisions.

But God has an even bigger life plan for our children than we do. He wants to develop their gifts and talents and see them develop the traits of Jesus Christ Himself. After all, God has their eternity in mind. As parents, there's one more thing we should be doing for our children, praying. Our faithful prayers help unlock God's character within our children. The Bible says that the fervent prayers of a righteous person accomplish much.

Lord, Bless My Child shows us with HOW to pray for our children. As a parent, I know it's easy to get stuck in a rut of a quick bedtime prayer of, "Lord, please keep Billy safe." But, if our children are our greatest blessings, shouldn't we be more diligent? After all, the Bible tells us to "pray without ceasing." (1 Thess. 5:17).

The book consists of 52 chapters, one for every week in the year. Each chapter focuses on one specific character trait as the basis for that week's prayers. Of course, these aren't the only 52 traits you want to see in your children, but the book is a model which you can learn to use and adapt.

I like that each character trait is supported by passages of Scripture, quotes, and conversation starters. There is also room for you to write your own thoughts and record answers.

These are a few of the traits included:
* Compassion
* Honesty
* Responsibility
* Trust
* Laughter
* Wisdom

This book would make a beautiful gift for parents and grandparents alike.

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.
To read more reviews like this one, go to Tell Us The Truth Reviews.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

"...Just because you go to church doesn't mean you are a 'good Christian'."

Love's Tangled Web, a Novel by Keren Franklin

My 1st official book review By - Amy

 
 "...Just because you go to church doesn't mean you are a 'good Christian'."
 
If any of you are olden readers, you would know that I attempted to review a book last summer (I won't speak the name, you have to look it up if you care that much). But it was so horrible that I never ended up actually posting a review on my blog, but instead just submitted a review to the publisher as I had agreed. I was too embarassed because I had NO idea what to write and it just wasn' for me at all. The book was chosen for me....

So this time around, about 6 weeks ago, when the publisher contacted me again (I was positive I'd never hear back) I wasn't so sure, BUT it was one of my goals this summer to read a few books, since I rarely find the time during the year. Also, this time I got to choose the books to review and after reading their summaries, I found two I thought would fit my style. Nevertheless, here goes.....

BTW, I read this book in a little more than week, which if you know me, speaks volumes to the readability. I am a very slow reader.
 
Love's Tangled Web, written by Keren Franklin, immediately caught my attention because it was written so simply and easy to read. Now don't get me wrong, I know some people like to read and think critically, but for me, I think reading should just be super easy and require little thought process. It's what I like to do to relax. In any case, the book was a little under 200 pages and in my opinion was the perfect size.

This book follows the story of a 30 something cookie cutter all-American family super involved in their church and super involved in the perception everyone has of their family. Bridgette, the main character, has a not-so-perfect sister who attempts to rock her world by sleeping with her husband. Bridgette's husband complies, as he realizes his marriage is not as perfect as everyone thinks. About 90% of the book follows this plotline and the drama that ensues afterwards. It is then that the book takes a very God-centered standpoint and suddenly Bridgette has a conversation with a fellow parishoner that seems to change her life forever. The ending is not the happiest you could come up with, but I definitely think, the most realistic.

As I said, I really enjoyed reading this book because it was easy to get through and not too 'preachy'. I did find the ending of the book, while comforting and a true ephiphany, quite abrupt and a little too 'all-of-a-sudden'. I feel that if that was the understanding the main character was going to come to it should've taken more than a few pages and should have been more gradual. While I understand that things like that happen, I think more often than not they would happen at a slower pace.

This book, as most things I read like this, do make me wish that at times I had greater faith and realize that people in such situations really can find forgiveness through God. However, at the same time, it allows me to remember that some churches aren't as they seem and that the outward appearance is not always accurate. I do commend Franklin, the author, for portraying this, as I think sometimes it's hard for people to see that just because you go to church doesn't mean you are a 'good Christian'. You know, just because you stand in a garage, doesn't make you a car, kinda thing.

Although I don't really judge a book by it's cover....ha ha, the summary on the back was enticing enough that I chose the book to review. It gives you enough information, but not too much to ruin the plot line. I would be interested in reading more of Franklin's book to see what else she could write about. They are easy readers and I think she has a promising future. I would recommend this book to someone who is looking for a quick, light-hearted, but Christian read!

To purchase this book for as little as $12.50 ($9.99 for a Kindle/Nook version), you can visit Amazon, Barnes and Noble or Deep River Books.
ISBN-10: 1937756076

"...It took me to another place where I could learn and grow with the characters..."

Love's Tangled Web, a Novel by Keren Franklin
Review By Cara
 
"...It took me to another place where I could learn and grow with the characters..."
 


"A picture-perfect marriage. A little harmless flirting. Two sisters, with lifelong resentments. The ultimate betrayal. Bridgette’s life, on the sun-drenched west coast of Australia, appears perfect – married to a successful lawyer, Joel, with two beautiful daughters and a leadership position in church. She even has herself fooled into thinking she’s got it all together. But there’s a perfect storm brewing, a wave of events that will sweep away Bridgette’s superficial world forever. Joel is harboring frustrations which his self-centered wife won’t acknowledge, and Bridgette’s sister is nursing an old grudge against her. When dangerous passions erupt between the two, Bridgette is blind-sided and humiliated. As destruction falls on everyone she loves, Bridgette must finally get real with herself… and with God. In the aftermath, an attractive younger man offers her his heart, but can Bridgette build a new life and a stronger love amid the rubble? Or is it possible to forgive the unforgivable? Keren Franklin spins a gripping, cautionary tale about the tangled web we weave when first we practice to deceive… ourselves."

This book sounded so intriguing to me, because I love to learn from other people how difficult situations and life, in general, affect and change them. I especially love to see how they grow and become stronger or smarter because of challenges and trials.

I started this book out hoping it would take me to another place, one where I could learn and grow with the characters, and it did not disappoint me! Once I started reading, the author kept me so captivated, I could hardly put it down. Since it wasn't a super long book, I had it read in a few short days. I was actually sad when it was coming to an end, because I didn't want to leave these characters!

Keren Franklin did a great job at developing the characters, helping me feel what the characters were experiencing, while also letting me imagine myself in their situation, wondering how I would respond.

I learned some valuable lessons from Love's Tangled Web, even though it was a "for pleasure" book. I was reminded again how much work marriage takes and what can happen when both partners put their marriage on the back burner. I was also reminded about what a difference a strong, real faith in our Savior can make, especially when you know His perfect love and follow his example of love and forgiveness in your own life.

I highly recommend this book to everyone! It was entertaining, impactful and a great little escape for me at the end of a long day. Get your copy from Amazon or other online retailers today.

Posted By Cara Nitz

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

"...all her life she’s been living the “motions” of a Christian but not truly relying on Him "


Love’s Tangled Web,  a Novel by Keren Franklin
Review by Erica K





"...all her life she’s been living the “motions” of a Christian but not truly relying on Him. "

Bridgette was living the life we all dream of. She’s a leader of her Bible study, her husband is an elder at their church, he has also been promoted as a partner to the law firm, they have two beautiful kids and all the fancy things we’d love to have. She never imagined her husband would cheat on her. But when he does her whole world is turned upside down. She blames God, her family and her husband. She becomes bitter and angry. It’s affecting her life and her children’s life. She soon discovers she needs to be turning to God. That all her life she’s been living the “motions” of a Christian but not truly relying on Him or being pleasing to Him. Once she starts to read her Bible and changes her focus from herself to God she starts to see things change in her life.
I really loved this book. I read it in one day, I just couldn’t put it down. I saw a lot of myself in Bridgette and with all the Scripture and prayers written in this book I felt like I was doing a mini Bible study for myself. I see many things that need to change in my life and more I need to be doing to be a better child of God. I’ve turned my back on Him like Bridgette did. I feel like He has abandoned me, like she did too. I know I have a lot of work to do in the next coming days-months-years to help improve my life and attitude towards everything. I’m glad to have read this book. Without it I think I would personally be lost/bitter. Plus the story is really well written to keep you wanting to read and not put it down. One thing I really loved was that the book didn’t end with “and they all lived happily ever after.” It ended with things looking better but not perfect, it reflects the reality of life which made the book more enjoyable.

Synopsis-
“A picture-perfect marriage. A little harmless flirting. Two sisters, with lifelong resentments. The ultimate betrayal. In the aftermath, a younger man offers his heart, but can Bridgette build a new life and a stronger love

"where the life-long, soul-deep cravings of every man and woman can at last be satisfied"

Paradise Calling by Ilze Henderson,  Fiction Review By Erica


"...Where the life-long, soul-deep cravings of every man and woman can at last be satisfied."


Donovan is woken up in the middle of the night by Professor Harvey. It’s highly unusual for him to be calling that late at night and soon Donovan’s life is changed forever by responding to this call. He is sent on an adventure with Professor Harvey’s daughter, Jennifer. They need to find a secret world her father discovered and find the missing link. Little did they know that other people are looking for this world too and will do anything, even kill, to get it.
I was really into this book. It’s got a lot of adventure, a bit of romance and at the end presents the Gospel and what God has done for us with Jesus. Although the story may be a bit of fanciful, it still gets the point across that God's spirit is in us all, in our blood. It was fun to close my eyes and try to image what this world that Donovan and Jennifer experienced. When Donovan and Jennifer were challenged with where their heart was with God it really challenged me to think more about where my life is with God.
If you like adventure, and or Christian romance books I think you will love this one. It’s a fast paced read that really sucks you in.

Synopsis-
“A secret project is uncovered revealing a hidden portal to a breathtaking realm where the life-long, soul-deep cravings of every man and woman can at last be satisfied. Paradise Calling takes readers on an Avatar-like

Thursday, August 2, 2012

"Questioning evolution’s complete silence on how life arose from non-life..."

 The Dawkins Deficiency by Wayne Talbot   Review By:  Scott Diekmann


               "Questioning evolution’s complete silence on how life arose from non-life..."


Wayne Talbot’s recently published book The Dawkins Deficiency: Why Evolution Is Not the Greatest Show on Earth (Deep River Books, 2011) is definitely worth reading if you’re a laymen -- and who isn’t when you’re talking about evolution and related fields? Mr. Talbot’s modest goal is to critically examine new atheist Richard Dawkins’ book The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution (Free Press, 2009) and “comment on the validity of his assertions as evidence and what, if anything, such evidence proves” (xvi).

Judging from the title, you might expect this book to be a Bible thumping zealot’s response to a misguided attempt to question the authority of the Bible, and you’d be completely off base. Talbot does an excellent job of presenting well reasoned, impersonal arguments that will appeal to a general audience. As he states on page 37,
My goal is not to disprove evolution theory, my goal is to evaluate the truth of the claim that the evidence for it is incontrovertible, that evolution theory has been scientifically proven, and that the book under review provides that evidence.
And again on page xix:
In this book, I do not advance an alternate explanation of origins. Dawkins opens the door to discussion on both Creationism and Intelligent Design, and I do seek to correct his assertions and arguments where I believe he has it wrong, but I am not herein advocating any particular theory of origins despite my personal views. The issue is the validity of the theory of evolution; the alternatives can be argued elsewhere.
He lets you know right up front where he’s headed:
While I am not attempting to disprove evolution theory, I am claiming that there are numerous problems with the general theory—that much of the science is predicated upon unproven assumptions which have led to numerous errors; that there is a substantial body of scientific evidence that throws doubt on the theory; and that there is more unexplained than explained. The major proof points for the theory, namely, abiogenesis (chemical evolution), and that genetic mutation and natural selection have the development power claimed for them, have not been scientifically demonstrated, and there is inadequate substantive evidence for their assumed capability (xix).
Talbot has a background in Information Technology, which allows him to look at things from a slightly different perspective than other authors in areas such as irreducible complexity. He demonstrates a thorough understanding of evolution’s complexities, yet does a good job of explaining things without losing the average reader in the process. By comparison, this book is an easier read than Michael Behe’s book Darwin’s Black Box, but no less helpful. The author systematically goes through Dawkins’ book, covering the majority of the chapters. While there are a few spots where having Dawkins’ book in hand would be helpful, there’s no need to have a previous familiarity.

If you’re familiar with logic, you will appreciate Talbot’s analysis of things, and if not, this is a good learning opportunity to hone your reasoning skills. He demonstrates over and over Dawkins’ logical fallacies, including category errors, appealing to the law of the excluded middle, unwarranted generalization, circular arguments, affirming the consequent, and appeal to consequence. Don’t worry, all of these errors in logic are laid out in an easily understandable fashion.

In the book, Talbot points out numerous areas where Dawkins’ position on various facts have been proven by the scientific community to be in error. Some of these include his claim that embryological development proceeds by the application of local rules without reference to a master plan, that single-point mutations are heritable, that ontogeny repeats phylogeny, and that the untranslated regions of the genome serve no purpose. The author’s reasoned conclusion to Dawkins’ missteps:
This leads me to conclude that the author is simply holding onto disproved assumptions because they conveniently fit the observed phenomenon when interpreted within the paradigm of evolution. Far from being evidence of evolution, it presents as evidence of desperation (138).
He deconstructs so many of Dawkins’ arguments in fact, that this book can serve as a useful reference to debunk many of the now fashionable pro-evolution arguments. And since many of the arguments you see in the media are by laymen who have been schooled by Dawkins and others like him, this is a helpful addition to your bookshelf. It also illustrates the one weakness of the book, there’s no index, which makes it difficult to reference valuable points that you know are in there somewhere.

Other major topics that Talbot reviews include Dawkins’ refusal to address evolution’s complete silence on how life arose from non-life, and evolution’s inability to explain how the immaterial information and coding system of the genome could have arisen by chance. He keenly points out that
In evaluating the evidence presented in Richard Dawkins’ book, we need to separate substance from style. The author claims that evolution is a scientific theory; thus, we must determine the validity of the theory based on the scientific evidence alone. Railing against Theists, Creationists, and Intelligent Design proponents is simply theatre; it is not evidence of anything other than the author’s trenchant atheistic polemic, and should, perhaps, even score against him in terms of his willingness to engage with alternate ideas and scientific evidence (253).
Another strength in the book is Talbot’s weaving in quotes by evolution supporters questioning their own theory, such as this one by Richard Lewontin:
“We take the side of science in spite of the patent absurdity of some of its constructs, in spite of its failure to fulfil many of its extravagant promises of health and life, in spite of the tolerance of the scientific community for unsubstantiated just-so stories, because we have a prior commitment, a commitment to materialism. It is not that the methods and institutions of science somehow compel us to accept a material explanation of the phenomenal world, but, on the contrary, that we are forced by our a priori adherence to material causes to create an apparatus of investigation and a set of concepts that produce material explanations, no matter how counter-intuitive, no matter how mystifying to the uninitiated. Moreover, that materialism is an absolute, for we cannot allow a Divine Foot in the door (8).”
The author concludes on page 265:
The theory may be true; at some point in the future research may uncover evidence that does prove to be substantive, in which case we can then deal with it, but as of now, based on the evidence presented, the case is not proven, and evolution ought to be described as a hypothesis only. It most certainly does not deserve the eminence of the appellation: scientific theory. …There is substantive scientific evidence that directly refutes Dawkins’ inferences, and as scientific proof, this must hold sway.
Dawkins, in his book, comments that “Evolution is a fact, and this book will demonstrate it. No reputable scientist disputes it, and no unbiased reader will close the book doubting it” (9). It seems unlikely that any reputable reader, after reading The Dawkins Deficiency, will close it without thinking that Richard Dawkins has failed to demonstrate that evolution is a fact. Wayne Talbot’s book is definitely worth a read.


The Dawkins Deficiency is available from major book distributors for $15.99, and less than that online. The Kindle version is available for $9.99. 

"A story of heartache, spiritual awakening, growth, and forgiveness"

Love's Tangled Web, a Novel by Keren Franklin
Review By Katie at  
                           "A story of heartache, spiritual awakening, growth, and forgiveness"

 

Quick Overview:

A picture-perfect marriage.
A little harmless flirting.
Two sisters, with lifelong resentments.
The ultimate betrayal. Bridgette’s life, on the sun-drenched west coast of Australia, appears perfect – married to a successful lawyer, Joel, with two beautiful daughters and a leadership position in church. She even has herself fooled into thinking she’s got it all together. But a perfect storm is brewing that will sweep away Bridgette’s superficial world forever. Joel harbors frustrations his self-centered wife won’t acknowledge, and Bridgette’s sister is nursing an old grudge. When dangerous passions erupt, Bridgette is blind-sided and humiliated. As destruction falls on everyone she loves, Bridgette must finally get real with herself… and with God.
In the aftermath, a younger man offers his heart, but can Bridgette build a new life and a stronger love amid the rubble? Or can she ever forgive the unforgivable?
My Thoughts:
I love stories that could be real. They just touch your heart more.
Stories that could really happen just draw you in and become a part of you. You learn from them, you grow in them, and then you apply what you read to your own life. Love’s Tangled Web is a story of heartache, spiritual awakening, growth, and forgiveness that could happen to anyone. All things anyone can use in their lives.
On top of all that, I couldn’t put it down, I had to know how it ended! I cried with Bridgette, grew angry with her and cheered when she allowed forgiveness to help her heal.
It is definitely a book I recommend to anyone looking for a good clean read. Just have some tissues handy!
Deep River Books: Whether you are looking for inspiration, Christian living, tips on parenting or a good fiction book-it is all right here.
I received this book free from Deep River Books in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are mine and mine alone and are in no way influenced by receipt of this book.

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

"Love's Tangled Web is filled with angst, love, questions, and finding one's self"



Love's Tangled Web , a novel by Keren Franklin

Review by Wendy 

"Love's Tangled Web is filled with angst, love, questions, and finding one's self"




 A picture-perfect marriage. A little harmless flirting. Two sisters, with lifelong resentments. The ultimate betrayal. Bridgette’s life, on the sun-drenched west coast of Australia, appears perfect – married to a successful lawyer, Joel, with two beautiful daughters and a leadership position in church. She even has herself fooled into thinking she’s got it all together. But there’s a perfect storm brewing, a wave of events that will sweep away Bridgette’s superficial world forever. Joel is harboring frustrations which his self-centered wife won’t acknowledge, and Bridgette’s sister is nursing an old grudge against her. When dangerous passions erupt between the two, Bridgette is blind-sided and humiliated. As destruction falls on everyone she loves, Bridgette must finally get real with herself… and with God. In the aftermath, an attractive younger man offers her his heart, but can Bridgette build a new life and a stronger love amid the rubble? Or is it possible to forgive the unforgivable?

Wow, imagine coming home and finding your sister in bed with your husband. OUCH! Bridgette and Piper have always had a tense relationship - one feeling like the good sister and one the bad. Perception is reality though. Devastated, Bridgette turns toward her church family and begins to learn more about herself. She also begins a relationship with a younger college man and from there, the gossip flies. Will Bridgette start a new life with her new man or will she learn to forgive, not only her husband but herself?

A page-turning, thought-provoking read, Love's Tangled Web is filled with angst, love, questions and finding one's self. The characters are realistic and the betrayals and hard truths are bitter pills to swallow. Keren Franklin does a superb job of writing this compelling, hard-to-put-down novel. The story will stay with you for days, long after you've read the last page. A recommended read!


I received a copy of this book from Bring it on! Communications,  in exchange for an honest review...

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

..."a realistic tale illustrating that our place in the world is not a guaranteed secure place..."


 

The Place of Belonging by Jayne Pearson Faulkner , Non- Fiction

Review by Sue W

             "...a realistic tale illustrating that our place in the world is not a guaranteed secure place..."




Finding a sense of belonging and safety is the "stuff" underlying the plots of countless novels some packed with never ending action and others focused on the emotional turmoil of self-discovery.
The Place of Belonging by Jayne Pearson Faulkner fits neither category but is instead a quiet fiction memoir retracing a young girl's childhood in 1940's Big Sky Montana. As the book blurb points out, it is a place many of us will recognize, a step back in time. But this book is not all sweet remembrance. Faulkner softly creates an image of a young girl, deeply loved by her grandmother and mother, but always set aside by the community and even their church as being different, all because she did not have a father. When her mother does marry, Janie is already seven, past by the cuddly and cute stage that could capture a step-father's heart. As baby after baby arrived to her mother and stepfather, Janie becomes part of a growing family that needs her help. but still sets her aside. Even the living arrangements set Janie apart from her family. During the week she continues to live with her steadfast grandmother in the city, traveling each weekend by bus to the Big Sky farm to see her family.

A photo at the end of the book will show this separation, felt by the young girl, but never spoken aloud -- a jumble of toddlers with blonde hair and blue eyes like their father, and older, dark-haired, dimpled Janie, a contrast of difference. This photo begs the question of how much of this story is fiction (called a fiction memoir) and how much is fact. I actually forgot the book had been classified as fiction. The young girl's narrator voice has the right mixture of age appropriate innocence, first heartbreaks and developing insight.

I did not grow up in the 1940's, or even in Montana, but I recognized the hard working families - the joys of new puppies and kittens, the harsh realities of farming, and the simple rewards of hard work. In this modern time of split families and abandoned responsibilities, many readers will be attracted to grandma who seemingly tirelessly keeps the family on solid footing with her cooking, cleaning, and loving.

This is not a dark tale of abuse or neglect, but rather a realistic tale illustrating that our place in the world, or even within our family, is not a guaranteed secure place, revealed at our birth. Janie's spot was complicated by the sometimes cruel mores of tradition and the "no-emotions" barriers of her new Swedish family, but when she finally comes to spot of belonging, you will rejoice at her arrival. Jayne Pearson Faulkner has been a missionary, and I would love to hear of her adventures as such. She is a delightful story teller who deftly handles mixing the profound occurances of life with the ordinary.

I received a copy of this title from Bring It On Communications for review purposes. All opinions are my own. Check out this promotional you tube video for the book. Want a short book to fill an evening or to take along as you travel. Get a copy or e-copy of Place of Belonging and enjoy it.

Thursday, July 5, 2012

"All of the skeletons are missing their heads!"...


The Sacred Mountain, by Dalen Keys
Review by Nancy


“All of the skeletons are missing their heads!"... 
The Sacred Mountain, Fiction

When you’ve grown up in Philly, the Southwest is a long ways away. Will was heart-broken that he had qualified for the Eastern Pennsylvania Skateboarding Championships. Not the qualifying part, but the part where he finds out that Mom and Dad have scheduled the same time to volunteer at a reservation Clinic in Arizona. He has to go.

Imagine your 13-ish kid in a total pout. Not fun. But Will’s life is about to change in ways he’d never imagine and skateboarding has just a bit to do with that. Waiting to meet them with his Jeep is Pastor Roger Feathers, who is in charge of the Clinic and the small reservation church. He has also drummed up a lot of interest in Will giving skateboarding demos in the evening!

Meeting Pastor Roger helps Will loosen up, and when he meets the Pastor’s kids, Jake and Kate who are skateboarders too, he fits right in. There is a friend of Will’s father doing an archaeological dig at the place the tribe used to winter and they have found some amazing things, especially if you’re a teen. All the skeletons are missing their heads! There are over 5000 sets of bones and at least that many heads resting in a separate place. Wow! The tale of the ancient tribe is written into the story of Will and his friends. They learn that the chief of the tribe had a son named Eagle Feather who disappeared one day, never to return. He had been studying with a trader who loved God and was trying to help Eagle Feather understand the Bible. History comes to life in more ways than one.

The author of this YA novel has a PHd in Chemistry and a wonderful way with words. Dalen Keys has taken an old tale, revised it a bit and made it part of a great story for young and adults alike. There are many who will enjoy the Indian tale for itself and many more who will understand that God sees all our undertakings, even helping out now and then.


Posted by Nancy

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

"Not the perfect life they had hoped for..."

Love's Tangled Web, A Novel by Keren Franklin
Review by Edna

“Not the perfect life they hoped for…”

Love’s Tangled Web, Fiction


   This is the first time I have read a book written by Keren Franklin. I want to thank "BringIt  On Communications" for sending me this book free in order for me to review.

Bridgette and her husband Joel, who is an attorney, live in Australia with their two daughters. They do not have the perfect life that everyone thinks they have. Bridgette is self centered,  but she thinks everyone else is. She and her sister have never got along, and she now has to go to a function for her sister that she does not want to attend. But with Joel's persuasion she does go,  but there is trouble awaiting. As the trouble brews in their family, can they find a way out? Or will they go their separate ways. Bridgette begins to go to church and wants to have a closer walk with God.  After a younger man expresses interest to go out with her, she realizes then that she was in the wrong and needs to straighten herself up and do what God wants her to do.


Posted by Edna

Monday, June 4, 2012

We're Back!!!


Long time no see Blogger Family!

I cannot believe how long it has been since we've heard from eachother. Don't worry, we take the blame, our posting has been non-existent for far too long!

But, no worries, we are ready and excited to start again and guess what?? We have TONS of new books eagerly waiting to be read by all of you!!  Are you psyched?!? We are!!

So everyone get ready!! You will be recieving a new catalog soon with all of our new titles to choose from, and if you aren't on our mailing list, just email us with a "Hey! I wanna read too!!" and we'll get you in!

God Bless Everyone and Happy Summer!!!


There was an error in this gadget